I am Indebted to you…

“Thy Lord hath decreed that ye worship none but Him, and that ye be kind to parents. Whether one or more attain old age in thy life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honor. And out of kindness, lower to them the wing of humility, and say, “my Lord! bestow on them Thy Mercy, even as they cherished me in childhood.” (Quran 17: 23,24)

I find myself indebted to my parent.

My Mum…..she’s not only nourished her children (5 of us) in her womb, but went through pain and suffering. I think that  she loves her children even before we were born. She toiled when we were totally helpless infants. She spent sleepless nights caring for us.

My Abah….he worked really hard just to provide all our needs: physical, educational, psychological, and in many instances, religious, moral, and spiritual. I don’t know how to describe his hard work but one thing that I know he had sacrificed a lot to bring up 5 of us. If he’s still around, he must be very proud of his children…

My indebtedness to my parents is so immense that it is not possible to repay it fully.

I believe gratitude to Allah is incomplete without showing gratitude to one’s parents. Since being grateful to Allah is a form of ibadah which earns heavenly rewards, it can therefore be said that being grateful to one’s parents also earns heavenly rewards.

Let us pray to Allah that He guide us to be respectful, kind, and obedient to our parents, and that we continue to show them humility regardless of the power, position, wealth, and influence we may possess.

“Rabbi-ghfir li wa liwalidayy, Rabbi-rhamhuma kama rabbayani sagheera.”

“My Lord! Forgive me and my parents. Bestow Your Mercy on them as they took care of me when I was young.”

Wallahua’lam, Allah Almighty knows best.

Categories: Tafsir & Translation, The Reminder | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

